I’m sure I shall see…

Words echo in my head, some of them unhealthy thoughts.  But some bring hope where hope is needed.  In moments alone in the house last night, a chant from the Taize Community came to mind, and I repeated it many times, singing aloud to myself.  The song continues in my head today.

The song (of what I can remember):  “I am sure I shall see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  Yes, I shall see the goodness of our God, hold firm.  Trust in the Lord.”

The words are from Psalm 27, which begins, “The LORD is my light and my salvation—whom shall I fear?”

Oh, have I repeated these words often!  Trouble is, I’m empty.  But I must continue to repeat; I believe, and I have hope.

I have just come from a 4-mile run.  The last mile I sang the song, over and over in my head.

“I am sure I shall see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  Yes, I shall see the goodness of our God, hold firm.  Trust in the Lord…

Leave a Reply

